Once Upon a Time….

24 Jan

Have you ever won a contest? a drawing? the lottery?

Back in December I entered a contest by  Applegate Farms. All I had to do was post my best brunch tip. For me, this was a great exercise since:

a. Although I’ve participated in many brunches in the past, I’ve never actually hosted a brunch.

b. I write fiction.

So I thought  about what I would do if I was to give a brunch. This is what I came up with:

…. the most important thing when planning a brunch is variety. Make sure there is a balance of salty and sweet items. Have a “heavy” entree (egg and Applegate Farms bacon tacos for example) as well as lighter fare (fruit salad). Big pots of coffee, juices and of course mimosas should keep everyone and every taste happy!

Dear Readers – I WON.

The prize? A YEAR OF BACON!

A few days ago I received my first shipment. Applegate Farms was generous enough to include a variety of their products as well as the – you know – bacon.

First Shipment!

What would you do with all this deli goodness? As for the family and myself, we just started eating. But I’d love to hear what recipes, ideas, pointers you have for bacon and bacon’s yummy cousins sausage, links, bratwurst, etc….

Please stay tuned to this semi-weekly blog as I use  your ideas and experiment with bacon recipes, enjoy bacon trivia (bacon bits – get it? Eh, never mind) and find answers to the following questions:

How much bacon makes up a year’s worth of bacon?

What do you DO with so much bacon?

How can you eat a year of bacon without having to buy new and bigger pants?

Yours in bacon,

Melissa

35 Responses to “Once Upon a Time….”

  1. Dotti Enderle January 24, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    There is bacon in weiners? I guess you should eat them sandwiched in an English muffin.

    • Melissa Buron January 24, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      Applegate Farms sent me some yummy beef hotdogs. They were even organic! Delicious! Thanks for visiting!

      • Karen Newton January 25, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

        Sounds like a Bacon Cook-off to me…any excuse to par-tay.
        BLTs; bacon bits, bacon burgers. And, the grand prize for the winner is a month’s supply of Peto Bismol and of course…BACON.

      • Melissa Buron January 25, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

        mmmm, BLTs!

  2. Nancy Kay Bowden January 24, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Hi, Melissa! I read your blog post outloud to my 17 year old son when he came in from school a minute ago. He’s the one who believes EVERYTHING is better with bacon. His best suggestion was to have me tell you: “Share your bacon with US.” 🙂 We are both still grinning. My best suggestion is to reward a good round of exercise with a little bit o’ bacon. Congratulations on your win–and I look forward to your future posts.

    • Melissa Buron January 24, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

      Everything DOES go better with bacon – your son is so right!

    • Melissa Buron January 24, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      And thanks for visiting!

  3. Varsha Bajaj January 24, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    When should I come over for brunch?

  4. Kathy Whitehead January 24, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    Sausage links or ham, along with things like potatoes and spinach, would make some yummy soup for winter weather!

  5. Kathy Duval January 24, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Hi Melissa!

    I’m interested to see how ample amounts of bacon will affect your writing process. Will your nouns be more meaty and your verbs more salty?

    • Melissa Buron January 24, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

      Well, as Nancy’s son said, “Everything is better with bacon!”

  6. rcpjallen January 24, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Mmmmmm…..bacon. I suggest you…..share. Maybe, instead of PRETENDING to have a brunch…. I’m just going to go ahead and r.s.v.p. now.

    • Melissa Buron January 24, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

      no pretending – it was an actual tip! You’ll be the first on the invite list 🙂

  7. Bridget Strevens-Marzo January 24, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    Do you have that old expression in the US – ‘bringing home the bacon’? Well you did it – you came up with the goods! (Just don’t read Babe or see the film!)

    • Melissa Buron January 25, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      thanks B! Hope you are doing well! Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Bettina Restrepo January 24, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Measure the families waist now and report in a year.

    Not that I’ve ever had bacon cupcakes or bacon donuts…..

    • Melissa Buron January 25, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      there are also bacon martinis I’ve heard…

  9. Brandie Nickerson January 25, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    You could bring it to our meeting next month 🙂

    Brandie

  10. Monica Shaughnessy January 25, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    I smell a cookbook deal sizzling in the pan already…mmmm.

    • Melissa Buron January 25, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      where there’s a will – there’s bacon!

  11. Vonna Carter January 25, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Okay, Melissa, I’m thinking critique brunch at your house! Mmm, BACON!

  12. Joy Preble January 25, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    I read every comment just to make sure no one went there first…. and so… what about Kevin…. Bacon. Footloosing it for bacon.

  13. farzana January 25, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Jennah and Jacob will move into your house!

  14. Claudia Classon January 25, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Melissa,
    How about making an Applegate Farms-style choucroute garni?

    • Melissa Buron January 25, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

      great idea Claudia! haven’t had that in forever!

  15. Ann Jacobus January 25, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Congratulations to the Buron family! I think the real question here needs to be which wine goes best with bacon…

    • Melissa Buron January 25, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

      I’m pretty sure ALL wine goes well with bacon!

  16. Mima Tipper (@meemtip) January 25, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    This is so classic, Melissa–love it! And a year of bacon wouldn’t go very far in my house. With two teenage boys, they inhale the stuff whenever it’s in the refrig. I even gave my oldest boy of those twirly-gigs where there’s a main question, in this case: “What would bacon do?” and then a whole host of answers for the arrow pointer. My fave answer is “sizzle.” Enjoy your prize:)

    • Melissa Buron January 25, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      I love “what would bacon do”! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

